Patience and aquaponics

I have found that I want my system to finish cycling so bad that I am looking for any way to speed it up. I do know that since aquaponics is small eco-system I need to utilize patients while waiting for mother nature to work her magic. To remedy this I went down to the local pet shop, and asked them for a piece of wood from one of there fresh water tanks. My reasoning for this is that it will contain enough of the necessary bacteria to help my system cycle a bit faster. I threw the chunk in and am hoping for the best. Meanwhile, I built a nice indoor, blue barrel unit, had everything working great and decided I wanted something different, maybe it was my patience wearying thin, so I built a completely new system, where the old one was. I will admit that the new system looks great, and I am currently working all of the bugs out of it. Hopefully when this new system is done I will be able to use some water from my established system to help my new one cycle faster. I will post pictures and videos when it is done. In the mean time please send me some video requests in regards to aquaponics and I will try and make one.  Wish me luck, I have a long weekend in front of me. 

Leave a comment