Salt water bath

The last few days I have been reading through as much information as humanly possible on the subject of adding salt to an aquaponics system or giving your fresh water fish a salt bath.It is my understanding from the material I have read that the reason for the salt bath is to help sickly, or new fish within a system. The salt shocks the fish, but does not kill them, it does however kill parasites and certain fungi. This is kind of like a spa day for fish, when done they are placed back into their old tank, with rejuvenated gills, and hopefully no parasites. I like the idea of salt baths as a way to heal fish as it does not add salt to the system. From now on any new fish, or sick will get this treatment. What are some of your thoughts on salt baths? Any concerns, I would love to hear your comments.

 

The second form of salting I have researched involves adding salt directly to your system. Most everything I read said to add around 3 grams per liter. My first thought was great, now I have to convert everything to metric. Well that is ok, with all of the wonderful, free programs on the internet I can easily find one and convert away. I have also read that adding salt to the system is not bad for the plants, and is actually kind of good, in that it adds different forms of sodium for the plants. I like that. But I want first hand accounts of what people did, used and their outcome, did it work as planned? is this the best thing since canned beer? Let me know, I will continue the research and possibly salt my system this week.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Shas on February 12, 2012 at 12:57 am

    Grrr….
    I got confused with Imperial vs American measurements there.
    Let me try again,
    and moderator please delete my earlier post.

    Here are easy calculations for small systems:

    one teaspoon per gallon is very close to 1.5 ppt (0.15% ),
    two teaspoons per gallon is 3 ppt.
    and
    one Tablespoon of salt per five gallons is about 1 ppt.

    For those who prefer to work in litres,
    one teaspoon per six litres is 1 ppt.

    A Tablespoon of salt weighs 18.3 grams
    so one Tablespoon of salt per 18.3 litres is 1 ppt.

    Please note that these are US teaspoons, Tablespoons and gallons.
    One UK teaspoon of salt per Imperial gallon is 1 ppt.
    One UK Tablespoon per Imp. gallon is 4 ppt.

    These are accurate to within about three percent.

    Reply

Leave a comment