My outdoor system

I am very happy to announce that my outdoor system has finally stopped cycling. I was able to tell that my system was done cycling because my nitrates were high, while my ammonia and nitrites were 0 ppm. This took exactly 30 days, and quite a few dead fish later. As I stated in a previous post, from now on I will give all of my fish salt water baths, in order to protect them against a new system cycling, as well as clean them of parasites. I will post a how to on the exact measurements and time required to give fish a salt bath. I would also like to note that salt baths will help sick fish, as they shock the fish into an autoimmune response. While the shock will not kill the fish, it will kill the parasites.

My indoor system is in a testing phase whereas I added a bacteria, completely organic, to see if it would start and finish the cycling process earlier. The only additive to the outdoor system was the seasol I added, initially daily, then twice a week, it took that system exactly 30 days to cycle. I am hoping that the nitrifying bacteria I added to the indoor system will produce great results. I have my fingers crossed. One system down many to go.

2 responses to this post.

  1. How’s the indoor system doing? The cycling should have been pretty fast if you added bacteria. I curious.

    Reply

  2. The indoor system is running very smoothly. I am starting to see nitrites in my tests, so that is a definite plus. Hopefully within the next week or so I will see nitrates, then it should pretty close to finished. Thank you very much for the comment. If you would like to see videos of our projects you can go to youtube and look under sage aquaponics. We have a few videos posted. Thank you,

    Jarrod

    Reply

Leave a comment